Supercedure cells in new hive

Local question related to beekeeping in the Piedmont Triad area asked and answered here!

Moderators: Jacobs, Wally

c's bees
Newbee

Supercedure cells in new hive

Post by c's bees »

I am a beginner beekeeper. My package bees and the queen were installed Mar.30, 2012. Four days later when I checked the hive the queen was released and everything looked good. During inspection yesterday everything was beautiful and the queen was laying eggs. However, the worker's have several supercedure cells throughout the hive. I have had two suggestions from very experienced beekeepers. The first is leave them alone and check back in 3 wks. The other person suggests strongly that I destroy the queen cells and that after the original queen's brood develops in 2-3 wks everyone will be happy and they will accept this queen (this person actually raises queens and runs into this all of the time and says it is natural for the workers to make new queens because of course the current queen is not one of them) After reading again in First Lessons of Beekeeping I am leaning toward the second opinion. I have noticed throughout the learning process that I get a lot of conflicting advice and it is somewhat confusing. Which way would you go?
Jacobs
Guard bee

Re: Supercedure cells in new hive

Post by Jacobs »

Welcome to the forum. Please put your location in your profile. You are welcome to post no matter where you are located, but some beekeeping situations will depend on your location for an appropriate answer.