Is this normal?

Local question related to beekeeping in the Piedmont Triad area asked and answered here!

Moderators: Jacobs, Wally

tararusiewicz
Newbee

Is this normal?

Post by tararusiewicz »

I'm brand new to beekeeping, and just did my first official inspection, since the queen was released. This is what the top of the hive looks like.. is this burr comb... does it need to be removed?
Thanks
Attachments
image1 (1).JPG
image1 (1).JPG (126.24 KiB) Viewed 16228 times
Jacobs
Guard bee

Re: Is this normal?

Post by Jacobs »

It looks like your bee space is off. When starting out, you should push your frames together and center them. Any extra space should be at the sides of the super. Do not push them together now until you have dealt with the extra or bulging comb. If the bees have built double comb, you can gently peel away the second layer, the one that is not fully attached to the foundation. Send me a pm or call me at 336 740-1703 and we can see about a mentor visit if your bees are in the Guilford County area.
tararusiewicz
Newbee

Post by tararusiewicz »

This picture was taken after I removed one of the outer frames, so there is more space in the picture than when the hive was closed. That white comb was all stuck together when I started moving the frames.
Jacobs
Guard bee

Post by Jacobs »

Burr comb between frames and between the bottom of upper and top of lower frames is fairly normal this time of year either during heavy feeding or during a good nectar flow. If bees have built out 8 of 10 (or 6 of 8 in an 8 frame) and bees are occupying most of the frames, it is probably time to add a super.
Wally
Guard bee

Post by Wally »

As Jacobs said, You need to have a mentor come out and help you clean the frames and rearrange them so the bees draw straight comb. It is free, and should be used before the situation gets any worse.
tararusiewicz
Newbee

Post by tararusiewicz »